This site is BrowseAloud enabled
Text size
Small Medium Large
Default Black on white Yellow on black

Lauren's biography

Lauren Child

Lauren Child is a multi-award-winning, bestselling writer and artist whose books are known and loved the world over. She is the creator of characters including Clarice Bean, Ruby Redfort and Charlie and Lola.

Lauren Child has been at the forefront of innovation in children's books for over 15 years and has raised the profile of illustration as an artform for all ages. She's worked with mixed media, pioneered text as an integral part of illustration and collaborated with artists across different fields.


Lauren is also a passionate advocate for visual literacy and the importance of quality picture books for children. She is also passionate about encouraging creativity in children and adults. She is a trustee of House of Illustration, a gallery set up by former Laureate Sir Quentin Blake. She has been awarded an MBE for her work and was appointed as an Artist for Peace by Unesco in 2008.


Lauren's first two picture books I Want a Pet and Clarice Bean - That's Me were published in 1999 and were an instant hit. In 2000, Lauren won the Kate Greenaway medal for I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato (her first Charlie and Lola book) and in 2002 That Pesky Rat won the Gold Smarties Award. Lauren also published her first novel in the same year: Utterly Me, Clarice Bean, which was a runaway success. A second novel, Clarice Bean Spells Trouble, was published in 2004 and her third Clarice Bean novel, Clarice Bean, Don't Look Now, was published in October 2006.


In October 2005, the BBC launched a 78-part animated series of Charlie and Lola. The series has won four BAFTAS and been aired in more than 34 countries.


In Autumn 2011, the first book in Lauren's Ruby Redfort series was published by Harper Collins - Ruby Redfort: Look into my Eyes, followed by Take Your Last Breath, published October 2012, and Catch Your Death in 2013. Ruby is a smart-talking, code-cracking, girl-spy genius, who together with her side-kick butler solves mysteries and helps rid the world of evil villains. The sixth and final adventure for Ruby was published in 2016 - Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die.


In 2015 was the 15th anniversary of the first Charlie and Lola picture book and the tenth anniversary of the Charlie and Lola TV series. A new original Charlie and Lola picture book by Lauren Child was published in Autumn 2015 by Orchard Books called One Thing. The latest Charlie and Lola book will be published by Hachette in Autumn 2017 - Charlie and Lola: A Dog with Nice Ears.